Home & Garden Home Is Hummus Vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Choosing Plant-Based Hummus By Katherine Gallagher Katherine Gallagher Writer Chapman University Katherine Gallagher is a writer and sustainability expert. She holds a B.A. in English Literature from Chapman University and a Sustainable Tourism certificate from the GSTC. Learn about our editorial process Updated November 15, 2022 Fact checked by Olivia Young Fact checked by Olivia Young Twitter Ohio University Olivia Young is a writer, fact checker, and green living expert passionate about tiny living, climate advocacy, and all things nature. She holds a degree in Journalism from Ohio University. Learn about our fact checking process Share Twitter Pinterest Email Treehugger / Joshua Seong Home Sustainable Eating Pest Control Natural Cleaning DIY Family Green Living Thrift & Minimalism In This Article Expand Why Hummus Is Usually Vegan When Is It Not Vegan? How to Be Sure Your Hummus Is Vegan Frequently Asked Questions Yes, traditional hummus is vegan and there are only a few exceptions when additional ingredients render this delicious food non-vegan. Hummus is a dip or spread made from blending or mashing cooked chickpeas, olive oil, lemon juice, spices, and tahini—a simple Middle Eastern condiment made from hulled, toasted, and ground sesame. Traditional hummus generally contains all vegan ingredients and does not include any animal products; however, different flavor combinations may introduce dairy or other non-vegan ingredients. As hummus continues to grow in popularity in the Western world, it’s becoming more common to find other varieties, especially those including red bell pepper, white bean, roasted garlic, black olive, and other plant-based ingredients. Even better, the dip goes great with vegan-friendly snacks and meals, such as raw veggies, wraps, sandwiches, and even added on top of salads. While hummus is almost always vegan on its own, there are a few things to look out for when it comes to untraditional variations. Treehugger Tip Both tahini and chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans) are favorites among vegans and vegetarians thanks to their high plant-based protein content and abundance of nutrients.Studies show that consumers of chickpeas and/or hummus have higher nutrient intakes of dietary fiber, polyunsaturated fatty acids, vitamins A, E, and C, folate, magnesium, potassium, and iron than non-consumers. Why Hummus Is Usually Vegan The standard ingredients used to make hummus—chickpeas, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and sometimes garlic—are all plant-based and naturally vegan. However, with the product becoming increasingly common in grocery stores and on restaurant menus, some brands and chefs are beginning to experiment with more unique variations on classic hummus (though most of these are also vegan). Some popular brands like Hope Hummus make a point to ensure that all of their products are vegan and haven’t been processed with any animal products. A quick scan of the ingredients list will be all you need to ensure that your hummus is indeed vegan. When Is Hummus Not Vegan? Whether homemade or store-bought, a handful of hummus brands may contain dairy products like cheese or yogurt—though it’s definitely rare. For example, some brands may sneak parmesan cheese into their pesto-flavored hummus. Sugar is another common ingredient that might make an appearance in commercial hummus recipes. Cane sugar is often refined using a bone char filtration process, which many vegans find incompatible with their food preferences. Another factor to look out for is hummus with natural flavors listed as an ingredient, which may indicate products that aren’t vegan- or vegetarian-friendly, such as egg, dairy, meat, seafood, or poultry-based flavors. Look for the "vegan" label on your hummus in this case. Sabra, for example, is one of the more common brands of hummus found in grocery stores. The company lists some of its hummus flavors as vegan and some as simply vegetarian, making it easy for consumers to check the package and find out if the specific variety is vegan. Some popular Sabra flavors that are vegan include classic, jalapeno, lemon twist, olive tapenade, and roasted garlic. The brand's Greek-inspired hummus is not vegan; it contains natural flavors and non-organic sugar. Did You Know? Hummus may be just as good for the earth as it is for your health. Along with lentils, peas, and other beans, chickpeas are pulses, or an edible seed that grows in a pod as part of the legume family. Pulses have been shown to play a significant role in crop rotation by fixing their own nitrogen from the atmosphere and adding nutrient value to soil. How to Be Sure Your Hummus Is Vegan Although hummus is usually vegan and most companies advertise it as such, a few go a step further and follow the process to become certified by an official organization such as Vegan Action. The entire line of Cedar's Mediterranean Foods hummus flavors, for example, is certified vegan. Additional brands can be found searching Vegan.org's database. If the hummus you're interested in tasting contains sugar, one sure way to guarantee the sweet ingredient is not processed using bone char is to look for the "certified organic" label. Per USDA regulations, sugar certified as organic must not be filtered using bone char. Most popular hummus brands such as Sabra, Boar's Head, Hope, and Cava offer an organic variety or boast an entire line of organic products. Frequently Asked Questions Does hummus go bad? Most hummus will last for about a week in the fridge after it's been opened; however, it’s always safest to check the label for exact recommendations. Is hummus glutten free? Hummus using traditional ingredients should be naturally gluten free, though some store-bought hummus may be cross contaminated or use preservatives/filler ingredients that aren’t considered gluten free. Is chocolate hummus vegan? A popular variety of hummus that’s popped up in the last few years is chocolate hummus, most of which uses the classic hummus ingredients (cooked chickpeas, oil, tahini, salt) complemented with sugar and cocoa.The big thing to look out for here is whether or not these varieties add dairy and whether or not the sugar is processed using bone char. How to make your own tahini? Hummus is relatively simple to make, and since it doesn’t need to be preserved or incorporated into plastic containers like the store-bought varieties, it’s often better for the environment to make your own.If you don’t have tahini or can’t find it at your local store, you can try making it yourself by grinding sesame seeds in a food processor with a bit of oil until the mixture reaches a creamy consistency. View Article Sources Wallace, Taylor, et al. “The Nutritional Value and Health Benefits of Chickpeas and Hummus.” Nutrients, vol. 8, no. 12, 2016, p. 766, doi:10.3390/nu8120766 Hossain, Zakir, et al. “Biological Nitrogen Fixation by Pulse Crops on the Semiarid Canadian Prairie.” Canadian Journal of Plant Science, 2016, doi:10.1139/cjps-2016-0185 "Is Sugar Vegan?" PETA.